Nau Mai, Haere Mai - Welcome to James Cook School in Marton.

James Cook School is a full primary and multicultural school located at the south west end of Marton’s town centre.

Set in a semi rural environment, the school community is committed to ensuring James Cook School’s mission statement, “Achieving Excellence through Aroha, Endeavour and Resolution” is actively promoted and alive.

James Cook School is situated beside an Early Childhood Centre, Mill Street Kindergarten. This close proximity allows for quality learning relationships to be fostered and encouraged.

Vision - Building an interdependent community of engaged learners who go forth to influence the world around them.

School Hours

School starts 8.50 am

Working Session 9.00-10.40 am

Morning Tea Break 10.40-11.00 am

Working Session 11.00-12.30 pm

Lunch Break 12.30-1.15 pm

Working Session 1.15-2.45 pm



2023 SCHOOL TERM DATES AND HOLIDAYS

Read our Policies and Procedures

Search for our school. Type the first few letters of the school's name in the box and select the school, then log in with our username and password.

username jamescook password richer

School Community Open Day:

Term 1: Tuesday 7th February to Thursday 6th April

Term 2: Monday 24th April to Friday 30th June

Term 3: Monday 17th July to Friday 22nd September

Term 4: Monday 9th October to Wednesday 20th December

Public Holidays (School Closed):

  • Waitangi Day - Observed Monday 6th February

  • Good Friday - Friday 7th April

  • King's Birthday - Monday 5th June

  • Matariki- Friday 14th July

  • Labour Day - Monday 23th October

Mission Statement - “Achieving Excellence through Aroha, Endeavour and Resolution”

R - Respect

I - Inclusion

C - Cooperation

H - Honesty

E - Endeavour

R - Resolution

Our aim is:

  • To nurture learners in their journey towards becoming…

i. Effective communicators

ii. Confident in demonstrating a RICHER sense and

iii. Community connected.

  • To create an environment that reflects

-our core culture and enhances learning.